In Texas, the law requires drivers to follow traffic rules and drive responsibly. Failure to do so may result in a reckless driving charge.
If you face a reckless driving charge, contact Freedom Law Group to defend your case. Even for lower-level charges, you risk fines and jail time. Don’t take the risk, partner with a strong defense team.
What is Reckless Driving?
Texas law broadly defines reckless driving as operating a vehicle with “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Any reckless act, like speeding or failure to stop at a stop sign, may fall under reckless driving. However, criminal charges usually tie to the injury of another person or property.
Reckless driving is a criminal charge which means you have a right to a defense.
Can I Be Charged for Reckless Driving on Private Property?
Yes! Reckless driving applies to any location where you are driving a vehicle. For example, driving recklessly in a parking lot or even a driveway could result in a charge.
Typically, a reckless driving charge on private property stems from injury or major damage where law enforcement arrives. However, this is not always the case.
Do I Have to Cause an Injury to Be Charged with Reckless Driving?
No. Most reckless driving charges result from injury to another party. Yet, the law does not stipulate an injury as a requirement for a charge.
The law for reckless driving leaves room for many different acts to count as reckless driving. Because reckless driving is a criminal offense, it’s important to understand your rights. When you work with an experienced defense attorney, you have support to fight the charges against you.
What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving?
Reckless driving penalties vary based on the specific circumstances involved with the charge. For example, the first offense with minimal injury is typically a misdemeanor charge. However, the consequences increase when the situation involves drinking and driving, subsequent offenses, or death.
Most reckless driving cases result in a misdemeanor charge. In these cases, the penalties include a fine of up to $200, jail time of up to 30 days, or both. As you can see, even a lower-level reckless driving charge carries big penalties.
30 days in jail is serious. Plus, it can impact your future. Jail time from a reckless driving charge could lead to harsher punishment if you face charges for another situation in the future. You want to put yourself in the right position to achieve a positive outcome.
You Need A Reliable Defense to Fight Reckless Driving Charges
A reckless driving charge may feel like no big deal. Yet, when you consider the penalties and impact on your future, it’s serious.
You can deal with reckless driving charges on your own, but a strong defense is your best answer to protect your rights and your future. Don’t take the risk! Protect your freedom.
Contact the legal experts at Freedom Law Group. We know how to build a strong defense and navigate the complex Houston judicial system. We’re here for you each step of the way.
Contact us today to request a consultation.